The Mercy Seat

What is up with the San Jose Sharks? I know it’s still the pre-season and that they are getting used to a new couch and a new system, but come on. They’ve played four games, and won only one. In all of the losses they have allowed at least five goals. They have yet to score more than three goals in a game.

Again it is the pre-season and the hockey season is a long one so it’s a little early to start wallowing in despair, but I was hoping that the Sharks would come out hard this year. That they would bring it, as they say. After three years in a row of disappointing losses in the second round of the playoffs, the fans are hungry to have their hopes realized, and the Sharks should be hungry to prove to themselves, to the fans, and to the league that they are the real thing.

You cannot do that if you let teams run all over you, scoring five goals plus. It’s time for them to start acting like Sharks, and go for blood.

4 comments on “The Mercy Seat

  1. Adrienne says:

    At the risk of sounding like a snobby Canadian… wow a hockey fan from California! That’s so awesome to see!

    Anyway… As you say, it is only the pre-season, and this is the time where they let all the youngsters have a crack at making the team. I recently watched a Leafs’ pre-season game and realized I recognized practically no one. So don’t worry too much yet.

    (oh, and despite my being from Toronto, I’m a Detroit Red Wings fan. The Leafs have disappointed me for… most of my life at this point and I no longer cheer for them πŸ™‚ )

  2. Gah! Detroit. If there is one team that gets my goat more than Dallas or Calgary; it’s Detroit. I almost didn’t approve this comment, but then I figured in the interest of international relations (and your shock that I’m a hockey fan from Cali) that I’d let it ride. Still, Detroit?
    GAH!

  3. Dusty says:

    Fuck it. Hoops are right around the corner, and I need me a Ronnie fix. Oh shit.

  4. Adrienne says:

    Heh. So why the hate on for Detroit?

    I admit, I only became a Detroit fan because I’ve worshipped Steve Yzerman since I saw him play during his last year in junior hockey (as a Peterborough Pete), so I ‘followed’ him there. My blog has many, many posts about my undying hero worship of the man πŸ™‚

    But yeah, along the way I became a fan of the team as well (although, much as I love them, I sometimes also seethe with jealousy as the club is so damn well run and then I have to look at my home-town Leafs and wish the management would get their act together…)

Leave a Reply

