With a Little Help From My Friends

One of my students had a party last night, and was kind enough to invite me along. Actually it wasn’t a party a so much as a dinner at a pizza place with wine and beer, and of course pizza. I was scared at first, not because of going to dinner with my student and some of my colleagues, but because I am so broke. I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to eat, or even have a drink. But, I am still new in town and I have to jump on the chances I get to make friends, so I went. I made it clear, however, that I had no money and would just be there for company.

Well, they would have none of that, and they bought me some drinks and a pizza. It was very nice of them, and I told them that I would treat them to a meal and drinks when I get paid (whenever that may be). They seemed pleased with that.

A few notes o Czech Pizza:

It has a really thin crust, thinner than those pizzas you get in the frozen section at the supermarket.

It generally is not topped with copious amounts of toppings. There are usually only one or two pieces of the topping per slice.

They are not very greasy–which is nice, but I like my pizza to be sopping with grease from the meat and cheese.

They are not overly saucy, in fact they can be rather dry depending on the pizza and the place.

They are not too expensive, but they stretch the value for the product limit.

They are a good size, but not all that filling so unless you are not terribly hungry be sure that everyone at the table orders their own pizza, otherwise you will find yourself still hungry and having to order more anyway.

Overall I am not impressed with Czech pizza, but I cannot seem to avoid it. I do not seek it out, but when I eat with friends (be they American or Czech) we always seem to end up at a pizza place. In fact, I do not think that I have
gone to get pizza by myself since I have been in the Czech Republic. The next time I go out with friends I will try to convince them that there are other foods than pizza, and that we should try them.

Leave a Reply

