Desolation Row

So, earlier this week there wasa  murder suicide in Kentucky. A mother stabbed her two school aged children to death before shooting herself in the head. Horrible horrible stuff. No reason was given for the murder suicide, but I’m betting the mom was on medication that she could no longer afford because her house was being repossed (I have no evidence to support these claims, but they sound reasonable to me).

Then of course, there was that elderly woman in Ohio who shot herself when deputies came to kick her out of her house, which had been foreclosed upon. That story ended somewhat happily because at least she go to stay in her home.

And now, in Los Angeles, a man has killed his family and himself. A body count of six people. The reason? The man was unemployed and facing financial struggles. He had reached the end of his rope and decided that rather than live in the shame of poverty, he and his family should be dead. I am not saying the financial situation caused him to kill himself and those closest to him. I am not trying to make excuses, and obviously there had to be something else going on for this man to take such drastic measures, but I bet the crisis didn’t help. He probably saw himself as the bread earner in the family, and when he could not earn that bread, he most likely felt ashamed and like a failure. I know there have been times in my life when I felt completely worthless because I couldn’t pay my bills, and I have no one but myself to take care of. I can’t imagine what it would be like to be in that situation with a family to support.

Things are going to get much worse, and sadly, I don’t think stories like this are going to go away. In fact, I think they will become much more common in the next few years.

Reality can really suck sometimes.

Leave a Reply

