Is that Punk Rock?

So I was just checking out the song list for Guitar Hero World Tour (let me make it clear that I am not a huge fan of these types of games, but my friend Marvin is, so I have a passing interest in them) and much to my surprise I saw NOFX’s Soul Doubt on there. I was very very surprised. So much so, in fact, that I went to their website to see if I could get any news on this from there. But there is nothing there (at leas that I could find).

Why am I so surprised? Well, this is a punk rock band that has resisted anything really mainstream. Sure, they play at the Warped Tour, and some other high profile summer fests, but that’s about it. They released a “radio friendly” song full of vulgarities called please play this song on the radio, and it was hilarious. They went after Mtv because that station was playing their videos without permission.

And now they have a song on Guitar Hero World Tour. I do not question their integrity, or their motives. It is their music and they can do with it what they want. They probably don’t need the money, or the increase in “fans” that this is sure to bring. This might be a ploy, though, to get more folks to listen to them, as their message has become more and more political, especially since 2000.

If they were going to but a song on a video game, though I’m glad it’s Soul Doubt, because when you say it out loud (or hear it) it sounds like sold out, so this could be a knock at themselves in an attempt to take the piss out of any detractors who would try and call them out on this.

Be clear, I am not calling them out. As I said, it is their music to do with what they will. I was just surprised at the move, that’s all, and felt the need to write about it since I really do dig this band.

Here are a couple more videos I found on YouTube. None of these are official band videos, but I like the songs and find the vids interesting.

2 comments on “Is that Punk Rock?

  1. some jerk says:

    I DO question their integrity. I think Guitar Hero is a travesty, and I’ve always counted on people like Fat Mike to understand stuff like that. But I guess the world is changing, he’s getting fatter and balder and…well, what can I say–FUCK NOFX.

    • You are entitled to your opinion, and thanks for reading. I also enjoy your email address, it makes me laugh. I agree that guitar hero is a travesty, but hey as I said in the post it is their music and they can do with it what they want. Also, as I said, I like irony in having Soul Doubt be the one on the game, though I would be happier if they didn’t have any songs on games like rock band or guitar hero.

Leave a Reply

