I’m In!

I just registered for National Novel Writing Month, and I’m pretty excited about it. I’ve never really done anything like this, though I have been writing for most of my life, mostly fiction. The difference, though, is that I have never really sat down to make a concentrated effort to write a novel, or anything longer than say 12,000 words.

It’s a bit daunting to think about, especially since I really have no idea what I am going to write about. Well, that’s not exactly true, I have lots and lots of ideas of things to write about, but I do not know how many (if any) of them will hold my interest enough for a month of sustained writing.

I am also a bit worried that I will not meet the 50,000 word mark due to lack of creativity, time, and effort. I have a tendency to start strong, but then I get bored, or lose energy. When that happens it is nearly impossible for me to start up again. I do not want that to happen this time as I want to prove to myself that I am capable of something like this. I want to work at this, and finish it so I can feel better about myself. I know that completion of the novel of 50,000 words in 30 days will not make me a better person by any stretch of the imaginiation, but it will give me one more thing to say that I have done in my life. Like reading Ulysses, Infinite Jest, as well as living and teaching English in the Czech Republic. Sure, people have done these things, but they are in the minority.

As my friend Anna wouls say, this will be another feather in my cap, and that is always a nice feeling. Plus, if (when) I actually do this thing I will be able to say that I’ve written a novel. Again, other people can make this claim, published or not, but again they are in the minority. I am not all about doing things that others haven’t, but it does feel nice to be able to say that I’ve done these things.

I am a little worried that my teaching and planning will suffer because of the time I’m going to have to put into NaNo, but that’s okay. I have lots of time (no girlfriend, no social clubs belonged to, hell I don’t even have a boardgaming night anymore due to lack of games on hand and a group to play with).

The contest starts November 1st, just a day and a half away. Wish me luck, and join up if you think you have what it takes. It’s easy (to sign up) and free. So why not?

Leave a Reply

