Return of the Cold (and I’m not talking snow)

So on Monday (I know I know, I’m way behind on the news these days–too much reading it and not enough writing about it) Russia successfully tested a new ICBM. For those of you who don’t know, that means Inter Continental Ballistic Missile. Got it? Good because that is scary to me. Sure, we all know that America and Russia still have enough nuclear weapons to annihilate the world three or four times over (sure I may be exaggerating a little, but not by much), but the fact that they are testing a new generation of ballistic nuclear capable missiles sends chills up my spine, and not in that good way like after a really long and good tongue kiss, but in that oh shit, we’re all going to die kind of way, which makes me want to go out and find someone to give a good long tongue kiss to.

Anyway, Russia is testing the missiles, and developing new missile technology because of the proposed missile shield in Czech Republic and Poland , which they see as a possible threat to them because of the proximity and closeness of Poland, Russia, and Czech Republic. This is arms escalation, and is a review/preview of the last/next cold war. We put a shield in Central Europe, Russia develops missiles that can deploy six warheads at a time and bust that shield, and then we sit back and wait for some crazy asshole to launch a missile (doesn’t even have to be nuclear) that the shield will intercept, which prompts the automated Russian missiles to begin their launching procedure, but luckily it’s Russia and the missiles malfunction, fail to launch, and the nuclear holocaust is averted.

The above scenario is unlikely, but hey it is possible, and the new arms race is disturbing as hell because we’ve (people) just gotten better at making bigger and badder bombs with which to destroy each other. Speaking of the missile shield, I was talking to some Czech folks about it, and they seem to think that it’s a bad idea and that the majority of Czechs are against it. I cannot speak for the truth of that statement (I’ve only talked to like 4 people about it, and they didn’t think it was a good thing, but you can’t judge an  entire country on 4 people, no matter how much you want to), but I can understand their reasons. There is still some fear of Russia in Czech Republic, and the supposed consensus is that this could aggravate their old occupiers and cause them to do something drastic like invade again. The folks I’ve talked to know that there is a small (unlikely) chance of this happening, but the fear is real and tangible for them.

I wonder how the rest of the CZ feels about the shield. Do they support it? Do they hate it? Do they even know/care about it?

I think that I will make it my new mission to find out some more about how the people here feel about the shield and report my findings on this here blog. I mean, I know how I feel about it (I’m not worried about a Russian invasion, but I am worried about something stupid happening that could devastate the world–sure it wouldn’t matter because I’d probably be dead too but I just don’t like the idea of the Earth being almost completely wiped of all life, not just human), but I am curious to know what the Czechs think about it. After all, I can always leave, but this is their country and this is something that will affect them for the rest of their existence as a nation, and I think that if the Czech people do not want the shield then their government should listen to them and keep the radar system out of the CZ. That really would be best for the world, no matter how the Czech people feel about the shield.

3 comments on “Return of the Cold (and I’m not talking snow)

  1. Pdub says:

    isn’t it lovely how all the progress we’ve made in the last 4 decades or so is slowly being rolled back? goddamnit it i despise the humans

  2. dmarks says:

    Is it truly a shield, or are there offensive aspects of it?

    No one can have any legitimate complaint about a true sheild. The only thing it would thwart would be attacks. But if it is offensive also, that would be a very different story.

  3. It’s a shield in the sense that it is meant to intercept incoming missiles, but it does this by launching missiles, so it is entirely possible for it to be used in an offensive manner, and that it what Russia’s big gripe is. Well that, and they like to complain about what the US is doing.

Leave a Reply

