I Have a Date

Well kind of. Probably not really. I met a woman at a holiday party for the language school that I work for in early December (after my birthday but before getting mugged). We drank lots of wine and chatted a lot. Her name is Hanka, she is quite pretty, and wears glasses which is always a bit of a turn on for me (hey it makes her look smart and smart IS sexy). Anyway, we exchanged numbers, but with the craziness of the holidays and all the other bullshit that was going on at that time I never got around to calling her.

Then I kind of forgot about her. Didn’t mean to, but stuff like that happens, you know. Well, yesterday I received and SMS from her (that’s a text message for all you Americans) wanting to know if I wanted to meet up for coffee. She said that she had had fun talking to me at the party and that she had been thinking about meeting me, but she was busy with the holiday and exams (she is a student but not one of mine so there is no problem there). I was happy to hear from her, but there was a problem; I had no credits on my phone.

See, here in the CZ there are two options for making calls/sending messages with a mobile phone. One is to sign a contract and get a plan. This is probably a good idea if you make a lot of calls or send a lot of messages. I am not one of those people, so I opt for the second option: Buy some credits to put on the phone and then call/text freely until those credits run out and the phone needs to be recharged. Well, my phone had been out of credits for a few days when I got her message inquiring about coffee. I was unable to respond, obviously, and I was scared that this opportunity was going to pass me by. Sure, she was just asking if I wanted to go to coffee, but hey, everything has to start somewhere, right?

Lucky for me, though, I had just gotten paid. This meant that I had money to buy credits for my phone, which I did directly. I ran to the T-Mobile store, put some credits on my phone, then SMSed Hanka saying that I would love to have coffee with her.

So now I have a coffee date on Thursday in the early afternoon. This is good news for me as it has helped my confidence level and proven that I am not completely repulsive to the opposite sex in this country (I have been told that I have a funny face, but I think she was trying to be endearing). I know we are just having coffee, and I am not going into this meeting with any kind of expectation (or at least I’m trying not to), but I am happy nonetheless, and now I can say that I have a coffee date with a Czech woman, which is just plain cool.

4 comments on “I Have a Date

  1. Adrienne says:

    That’s great! Don’t overthink, just have fun 🙂

  2. Evan says:

    Hope the date rocked, my brother!

Leave a Reply

