So It’s been a While…

since I have written on the blog. Maybe a little over a week, but that is forever in this thing they call the blogosphere. There is no real reason for it either. I have not been too busy, or tired or running around taking care of things. Hell, I haven’t even been traveling (I haven’t been to Prague since the end of December), which is ironic considering the title of this blog.

So why haven’t I been writing? Like I said, I don’t know. Maybe it is because I have been feeling overwhelmed by too much time on my hands lately. Or maybe it’s because I have not been able to really wake up during the day. Seriously, I wake up at like noon and feel tired. Then I am up late and sleep again til noon or later. Now this sounds grand and all (and would be if I were a teenager), but it really isn’t. I find that my energy has been sapped and all I want to do is stay in bed and sleep.

This could be depression, but I don’t really think so. I know depression (have been struggling with it for a lot of my life) and this doesn’t feel that way. Of course, you never really feel depression until you are deep in its throes, but I still don’t think my current situation qualifies. I am not overly sad or moody (okay, sometimes I get really angry at the people that stand in front of the stairs when I need to go up them and there are plenty of other places for them to stand–but that is something that has always pissed me off. It is not a new development) lately, and the standard thoughts of the worthlessness of life and what’s the point of it all kind of things have not been present. I dunno, and it kind of bothers me.

And it is not like I don’t have plenty to write about. The US has a new president. New episodes of Battle Star Galactica have started (and they suck so bad, I could probably write for a year about how much I dislike that show–always have–why I dislike it and how I cannot seem to stop watching it), a new season of Flight of the Conchords, a high school basketball coach not sorry for his team’s 100-0 win over a smaller school’s squad, the Sharks victory over the Red Wings in an amazing game for both teams. So much else.

The point is that I have plenty to write about, but I just don’t really feel like it at the moment. I know that is a lame excuse for not writing, especially when the actual act of writing does make me feel a little bit better. It’s cathartic for me (as I imagine it is for most writers) even when I am talkning about nonsense as I am now (or maybe it’s especially cathartic when I am writing nonsense and not having to concentrate/deal with the crappy and yet hope filled world we live in).

Oh well, whatever has kept me from posting regulary I intend to combat it by trying to put one post up at least every other day. I cannot (and will not) promis anything, but I am going to try. It is too easy to fall out of the writing groove, and if I continue not to write it will just be that much harder to sit down and write when I finally have something real to say.

That is all for now. Have a great time until the next post. Hopefully it will not be too long of a wait.

3 comments on “So It’s been a While…

  1. Adrienne says:

    Flight of the Conchords is a definite cure-all for anything I find, I love those guys 🙂 I don’t get HBO Canada though so am going to either have to wait (bleah) or watch episodes chopped up on YouTube (bleah).

  2. Yeah that’s pretty lame. I’ve been watching them on ninjavideo.net since I am in the Czech Republic and while they have hbo here, I definitely don’t know a place where I can watch it. Ninja is good, though sometimes the episodes break and that is LAME!

  3. Pdub says:

    Yeah, you have no excuses, man. I want 16 essays by next Saturday and I am not willing to negotiate. Get to work!

Leave a Reply

