Lightning Run to Prague

So last Saturday I was sitting in bed being lazy and waiting to meet some friends of mine so we could go watch Inglourious Basterds. It was about four in the afternoon when I got a call from one of them saying that we weren’t going to go to the movie after all, one of them was busy and the other wasn’t feeling well.

I found this to be quite disappointing as the movie was the only plan that I’d had for the day, and since it is still summer my other friends who live in Liberec are out of town. This meant that I was going to spend another night in isolation in my room. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind being alone (in fact I often prefer it) but one can only stand so much solitude and I have been getting a lot of that this summer. It does make it harder to enjoy the warm and sunny weather when you have no one to share it with. So I was bored in my room, trying to think of something to do on a Saturday night in Liberec, a losing proposition because there really is not a lot going on in this town, especially for someone who does not speak the language, when I got the crazy idea to maybe head to Prague.

I sent some of my friends there a SMS (text message) inquiring as to what their plans for the evening were. Moments after the text was sent I received a reply from my friend Andrew that stated, essentially, he had no plans and asked if I was headed down. I responded with a “probably. I will be there in 2-3 hours.”

It was 4:20 in the afternoon.

I had not showered that day, or the day before (when there is no one around to smell your stench there is no reason to bathe) so I hopped up out of bed and ran to the bathroom. I had forty minutes before the next bus left Liberec (there was  a bus after the 5:00 one, but that would mean waiting an extra hour before leaving town, something I did not want to do) so there was no time for dilly dallying. I hopped in the shower, scrubbed my body, my face and my hair. When I was finished I quick dried (it was still warm outside so there was no real reason to do a thorough dry, and besides there was no time) and brushed my teeth. Then I hurried back into my room and packed my bag–cribbage board, extra pair of socks, t-shirt, and a book that I had borrowed from one of my Prague friends (I was only staying one night and had just showered, any real extra clothes were unnecessary) and ran out the door, locking it behind me.

It was about 4:35 at this point, and I knew that the tram would be there at any moment; if I missed it I would have to wait that extra hour for the bus that I was trying to avoid by moving like the wind. Lucky for me the tram was just arriving as I approached the stop. I picked up the pace, caught it, and was at the bus station at 4:50–ten minutes before the bus to Prague left.

I got on the bus and was at my friend’s house in Prague by 6:30, so a 2-3 hour trip turned into a one and a half hour one. It was pretty sweet and I was rather proud of myself for getting ready and out of town so quickly. That night we drank a few beers and played some cards, and I ended up coming back Monday morning instead of Sunday because I made the happy mistake of meeting some friends at a beer garden (an outdoor place where we sit and drink beer–if only they actually grew beer there, but then I probably would never leave) in the early afternoon. We were drunk by five, and by that time I had no desire to ride the Prague metro to catch the bus back to Liberec.

All in all it was a great weekend.

P.S I watched Inglourious Basterds yesterday and while I enjoyed it I couldn’t understand most of the movie because the subtitles for when they were speaking German and French were in Czech, which I of course do not understand. I will say, though, that I wanted more Nazi killing. Maybe not on the level of Kill Bill, but somewhere between what was in that movie and what was in this movie.

Leave a Reply

