Random Word related things that irritate me

When people spell loose when they mean lose.

For example: I hope the Sharks don’t loose their game tonight; or, I am loosing my mind. The correct sentences should be I hope the Sharks don’t lose tonight. I am losing my mind.

This is  a trivial thing, to be sure, and something spell checking on the computer won’t catch, but it is a common and rampant error and it gets under my skin, especially since it is so easy to avoid.

Definitions of lose: to stop having something because it has been taken or destroyed He will lose his job next week if he doesn’t start working harder; to be unable to find someone or something If your head was not attached to your body you would lose it; to not win a competition I want the Red Wings to lose at least fifty games this season.

Definitions of loose: Not firmly fixed in position The floorboards are loose; Not kept together as part of a group or container The loose apples rolled around in the bed of the truck; Clothing that is too big and does not fit correctly The pants are so loose that they sag down below his butt.

Aside from spelling, these two words have nothing in common (at least in terms of their usage/meaning) and this rampant abuse/misuse of loose and lose needs to stop.

Something else that irks me: when people use irregardless. Why does this bother me? Well, because it is not, in fact, a word. It is  made up and nonsensical and needs to be purged from our collective consciousness. Just use regardless instead; it is a word and it is the correct word.

And the last thing I will talk about right now is the misuse of to and too.

To is a preposition that is used in a myriad of ways:

Showing purpose: I came to help

Going somewhere: I am going to the store. Do you need anything? There are many other examples that I don’t feel like getting into right now.

Too, on the other hand, is an adverb that places emphasis or indicates excess: I drank too much last night. The music is too loud.

It also indicates including additional people or things: I am going to the movies, would you like to come too. I am thirsty, are you thirsty too?

Like loose and lose, the difference in spelling between to and too is the matter of a single “o,” but that difference is a major one since to and too, much like lose and loose mean completely different things. So please, for my sake, and for the sake of intelligent people everywhere, pay attention to how you use these words, and make sure you use the correct one in the correct instance.

And never use irregardless, unless you are trying to be funny. Even then, though, it should not be used because it just makes you look like a moron, and nobody likes that feeling regardless of what they might tell you.

One comment on “Random Word related things that irritate me

  1. thevelvetfist says:

    Great post! I see “loose” substituted for “lose” all the time and it irks me to no end. Civilization is built on good grammar and spelling.

Leave a Reply

