Vegetarian Meatloaf

Is what I made myself for dinner tonight*. It was pretty delicious, if I say so myself. I of course have no point of reference since I was the only one to partake in it, as I have no one but myself to cook dinner for. I like cooking, but I don’t enjoy it as much if I am just cooking for myself. It’s not that I need people there in the kitchen with me, though that is nice as long as they don’t feel bad if I don’t ask them to do anything. I am not really a control freak or one of those, “this is my kitchen get the hell out!” kind of people. I am, however, a firm believer in the too many cooks in the kitchen adage. Hey, if you want to chop some veggies, or boil some water, or make your own dish, that is fine, just please stay out of my way. I need the space. Not because I’m some kind of prima donna, but because I am an extremely messy cook and I need a large space so that I can make a mess, and yet still  have a suitable amount of room to actually complete the process of preparing a meal.

I used this recipe but made some additions. For example, I added a finely chopped large carrot, and a half each of a red, an orange, and a yellow bell pepper. Also, I used ketchup instead of tomato sauce, and instead of mixing it in with the loaf, I just poured it all over the top of the thing. I served it with a baked potato that had a little butter and a lot of cheese on top of it, which probably pretty much torpedoed the healthfulness of this meal, but I don’t care because I thought it was pretty damn tasty, and I know it is still healthier than the liter of ice cream I was contemplating as a substitute for dinner tonight.

I would have taken a picture of the loaf, but I forgot my camera at work. No worries, though, I will just take a picture the next time I make this, and I will be making it again because it is super easy and from prep to finish it only took about an hour an a half (if that), and it makes a ton of food. I easily have enough for more tonight, as well as for lunch, and probably dinner, tomorrow.

Hooray for homecookin’.

*I am not, not have I ever been, a vegetarian. I like meat, but tonight I was just in the mood for something different, and since I had never made this before it seemed like the perfect candidate for me to poop on experiment on.

2 comments on “Vegetarian Meatloaf

  1. mcarteratthemovies says:

    Now, I may the jerk about the point out the biiiiig purple elephant in the room, but: Can you realy call it “meatloaf” if it’s vegetarian?

    Food for thought.

    • True enough, M, true enough, but that’s the problem with vegetarians, isn’t it. They’re all, “I don’t eat meat, but I still want to call my food in a nomenclature that I, and others are familiar with.” I mean, “soy dogs” “meatloaf without meat?” Jackasses!

Leave a Reply

