Dear Readers

If you are a constant visitor, or just someone who stumbled upon this blog because you were searching for Ally Walker (nude pictures, admit it) you may get the impression that I am a bitter and completely depressed person. I suppose this is understandable, especially when there are posts like this, but I want to assure you all that I am not as bitter as I appear in these posts, and I am not nearly as depressed.

I am not saying that I am not bitter because Lord knows I am, but I am not really as bitter and cynical as I present myself in these ramblings. This blog started as a way to document my experience traveling and in the Czech Republic, but it has since taken a different direction. That direction being a dumping ground for random thoughts and senseless tirades. The occasional travel story still makes its way into the general discourse, but only once in a blue moon but for the most part I have strayed well away from the original stated purpose of this beast that is now three plus years old and only 405 posts deep (406 if you count this one, but you know the saying, don’t count your chickens (words in this case I suppose) before they hatch (before they are posted).

I seem to have digressed a bit, which should come as no surprise to those of you that take the time and effort to read my ramblings, so I will get back on track. The point is that while on this blog I might appear bitter and cynical and nihilistic and worst of all… a whiner… it isn’t true. Well, except for maybe the whiner part, but I would not necessarily consider whining so much as complaining. The point is (see how I headed off the impending digression) I am not as nihilistic, cynical or bitter as it would seem.

That is not to say that I don’t feel everything that I write at one time or another. If I wrote it that means I felt it. However, that doesn’t mean I believe it. It was just a thought that ran through my overactive brain, thus just because I wrote it doesn’t mean it’s something I believe or agree with; it’s simply and idea that I had and chose to explore. Sometimes those ideas come in the form of rainbows and happily ever afters, but more often they come in the form of suffocating babies, lying politicians, and general unhappiness (or maybe that’s just me being cynical). I need an outlet for those thoughts. That is why I write this blog.

I use this blog as a way to express the craziness that inhabits my mind. It is not profound nor is it really all that interesting (I can only guess about the second claim, but I don’t think it’s such an outlandish claim) but it is there, sharing the random craziness that comprises my life– from my reaction to the news to getting mugged to almost getting beaten with a broomstick.

The blog is a way for me to process life. It will not always be happy or interesting or understandable, but it is my outlet. It is how I make sense of things. I used to keep a handwritten journal, but I am having a difficult time finding a journal that suits me here in the CZ. All of them are either paperback (and I want a hardcover) or have graph paper inside of them, and I don’t want to write on a grid.

Anyway, I am done writing about this now. Final word: This blog is my dumping ground and I have said it before, but I will say it again…nothing read on this blog should really be taken seriously.

Thanks for reading.

One comment on “Dear Readers

  1. britneylynne says:

    In my point of view, at least you are being honest about your thoughts, and even though they can be scary (or scarily honest and true – in the moment -) At least you have thoughts, and I for one am always entertained by your so called “ramblings”, as I have been told that mine deserve a “thank you” (from certain co workers that are too afraid to say out loud what they are thinking about the company.).
    Anyways, I always enjoy reading your posts! So thank you for giving ME some thoughts to think over and ponder! And thank you for being honest in your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

