England

Where the beer is expensive and not very good.
Where they speak “properly” but still sound oh so funny to my American ears.
Where they are so polite that they tell you to “mind the gap” even when there isn’t one.
Where they drive on the other side of the road–and it’s really freaky sitting in the passenger seat because that should be where the driver sits.

I was there last weekend, and it was lots of fun, but seriously, riding in cars over there was quite an interesting experience, and a bit stressful as well. Of course, it could also have something to do with the fact that I generally don’t like cars and I don’t drive… I did a lot of walking around Harpenden and St. Alban. I took a lot of pictures (some of which I will post here on the blog when and if I ever get round to it). I spent Saturday walking around London, singing this song:

(Okay, I didn’t really sing this song as my friends and I walked around, but the tune did cross my mind for a moment or two on several occasions during the day).

I also took lots of pictures of London. We went to Tower Bridge, St Paul’s Cathedral, Big Ben and the London Eye, the Millennium Bridge and some other places I’m sure, oh right, like Soho and London’s Chinatown. And here is a picture of yours truly that friend took.

All in all I had a great time and I didn’t want to leave. However, my desire to stay wasn’t born of some newfound love of England, but rather the rediscovery of what it is like to be immersed in and surrounded by English, even if it did sound all proper and funny to me. When I returned to Prague and saw all the signs in Czech and heard all the Czech around me I just wanted to hop back on the plane and go directly back to Luton, even if I had to sleep in the airport lounge and bathe in its restrooms.

That feeling has mostly passed, though I do miss being around my native tongue, and I am glad to be back in the Czech Republic. For how long remains yet to be seen, but anyone reading this will have an answer as soon as I do.

2 comments on “England

  1. mark wienert says:

    Hey, thanks for the update and picture.
    So a proper pint was not as proper as it should have been?

Leave a Reply

