A New Post

I am a fan of Radiohead. I also enjoy The Sisters of Mercy. However it was not until recently, and by that I mean five minutes before I sat down to write this, that I heard a song by the Sisters of Mercy that sounded eerily similar to a Radiohead song.

Admittedly, I don’t have a good ear for music. I often think some songs sound like others only to have my friends tell me I am crazy. For example, compare these two songs, especially their intros and beat and tell me they don’t have more than a passing resemblance to each other. Song 1. Song 2. (It is entirely possible that I am wrong about the similarities between these two songs, as I wrote before, I do not have a good ear.)

Anyway, back to Radiohead and Sisters of Mercy. Earlier tonight I was listening to some tunes on mytunes and this song came on:
and the opening instantly reminded me of a song by Scott Tennorman’s favorite band.

Here is that song:

There is no doubt they sound different, but that is only because one has the volume turned to eleven and the other one is hanging out in the unobtrusive five-to-seven range. And sure, the lyrics of each song are completely different, but when I say the songs sound similar these are not the things of which I speak. What I am talking about is the basic beat and composition of the accompaniment, especially in the beginning of each song. Or maybe I’m crazy.

Let me know what you think in the comments.

2 comments on “A New Post

  1. Randi says:

    http://rebelwithoutabraincell.tumblr.com/

    This is my new blog, Formerly of V for Valkyrie. Hope you are ok.

Leave a Reply

